Skip to content

“These are the best peanut butter cookies you will ever shove down your gullet!” ~canyon~[allrecipes.com reviewer]

April 3, 2011


Ok, I admit it.

Ratings and reviews get me every time.  Sit me in front of a recipe database, and I will, without hesitation, always arrange the recipes from the highest rated review to the lowest.  I have an inherent faith in any review that has been vetted by 546 home bakers, and I will pretty much read every single review until I am satisfied that it really is a recipe that is worthy of my [not super precious] time.

Vanilla-fied Eggs

Unfortunately, this Herculean confidence means that I also feel absolutely crushed when a recipe doesn’t turn out “superyummy ;)” or “omg nom nom nom!” or “THIS IS THE BEST BEST BEST COOKIE I HAVE EVER EATEN IN MY LIFE AND WILL MAKE YOU LOVE EVERYONE FOREVER.”  In fact, I often begin to question my prowess as a confectionary whiz in general when the cookie doesn’t make me love everyone, forever, and then I begin to feel uncertain about my life choices.

Symbol of questionable life choices

Thankfully, this doesn’t happen too often.  Usually the recipe rated a 4.5 out of 5 possible stars, because it is actually very good.  As you may or may not have guessed, I recently made some cookies from a user-generated recipe database, and they did not turn out exactly as I had hoped.  Oh, they were very tasty, but they were not even close to the best peanut butter cookie I’ve ever had in my life.  If you like soft, sweet, and rich, this is the cookie for you.  If you like chewy, textured, and super peanut flavor, not so much.  I should have guessed with the obscene amount of fat and that the description actually had the words “soft” and “creamy [?] ” to describe it.  Literally, it melts in your mouth.  But in a good way.

From Allrecipes.com, “The Whole Jar of Peanut Butter Cookies”

Here is a link to the original recipe.

I did not deviate (for the sole purpose that I could feel more victimized if the cookies did not turn out exactly as promised), but I did cut the recipe in half.

In case you are wondering, I did not feel victimized, but I did feel like I should have done a better job of processing the adjectives in the commentary.

Next up, can you guess which dough smells exactly like fake mashed potatoes?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

